Insightful Creator #19 - Positioning & Targetting

...and a story on how I lost $1,000

Read time: 5 minutes.

Welcome back, creators

Positioning.

Targetting.

Leadgen.

3 words that funnel to one thing - making more cash.

Archaic or even mythical terms that seem like some high level stuff that you don't need to worry about now - but believe me, you should.

I'll tell you a story of how Seb almost closed $1,000 client in his 2st month of Twitter - but monumentally failed.

Once upon a time...

It was a pleasant morning in the harsh atmosphere of January - and I my phone rings.

*bzzt*

Notifications from Twitter. Nothing special.

Back at the time I had notifications still on my phone. Went through them all. Anyway.

Checked my inbox - one curious DM popped in overnight.

"Cheers Sebastian, seen your current growth recently. You're absolutely killing it brother!"

I responded. "Thanks, appreciate it!"

Thought that was it. Turned off my phone. But another notification popps on.

"Have you been thinking of doing the same for others? I might be interested in your services"

Heart starts to pump blood like crazy. Eyes go wide open, adrenaline goes up.

I might be getting my first client. Emotions are through the roof.

Now, what would a 17 y/o newbie who has no offer yet do?

  • Tell them that they've no offer yet but can offer help

  • Ask questions and qualify them first (decide later)

  • Turn it down

Welp... I did neither.

'Sure I can ghostwrite for you!'

That was my response. Blatant, open, no intro no nothing. Not even an introduction or 1-2 questions to know their situation better.

At this point things weren't going downhill... yet.

The prospect was surprised - no wonder.

"Okay that's great. Could we discuss that over the call? I'd like more details if we were to actually work together."

Much less enthusiasm. But I, blinded by the chance of making first solid money here didn't notice anything.

Looking back I'm shocked that he didn't ask me for my Calendly - just sent his. Man probably already knew what was up.

Anyway. Time passes. Day to hop on a call is here.

5 minutes before the call I'm already sweating. Unsure of what may or may not happen.

Fuck it. We go in.

"Hey! I've no camera, hope that's fine" - first thing I say.

His smile slightly fell off.

"That's alright" - he said - "Glad to met you!"

Then we talked. I was still nervous and excited. My grammar also wasn't the best.

Mind that I'm polish - and our accent makes polish folk especially difficult to understand.

But the time came. And he asked me for my offer.

"I'll grow your account, 3x the engagement and get you 1,000 followers in 30 days" I said

I don't recall it well but I think that I just used 1-2 sentences to summarize it.

No promises. No bonuses. No reassurements. Nothing.

That was when that guy had enough - I just didn't know it back yet.

"Great! Yeah, I'm interested, give me some time to think and I'll get back to you tomorrow"

I hapilly agreed. He said that he'll message me next day after he thinks about this.

Over 3 months passed since. Yeah I got ghosted.

And that is how my:

  • Poor judgement

  • Lack of strategy and structure

  • Looking after my purse over my client

...killed the chance of getting this client.

Maybe it was for the better.

"But Seb... Where's positioning? And targetting?"

Glad that you asked. Exactly - there was n o n e.

Let me break this down.

I had no positioning and lacked structure

I didn't even finish up my niche.

It was in shackles. Felt forced and unfinished.

In short - it sucked. I was your everyday motivation and growth guy.

I'm still wondering what post made the prospect think that my content could make him grow - I bet it was the high amount of likes I was amassing at the time.

But I was broke.

Back then:

  • Focused on engagement

  • Purely focused on Twitter

  • Ignored my DMs

  • Great growth

  • $0 in bank

Now:

  • Focused on helping others

  • Purely focused on business

  • Checking DMs often

  • Slowed down growth

  • $4,000+ in bank

And the latter will go up quickly. What is there for you?

That I've found my own niche. And so should you.

How?

I'll explain in a second - for now let me explain second problem - targetting.

I was aimless

I'll tell you this.

How someone with:

  • No offer

  • No exact niche

  • Barely any knowledge on monetization

  • No funnels

...has a chance to earn money here?

Furthermore I'd take everyone as a client. Just to make money. Pathetic.

Lesson in there?

Find your singular ICP. Singular offer, problem, niche, client.

And grind the sh*t out of it.

Stop diminishing your focus by trying to succeed in many.

Succeed in one first.

And now - let me present you a blueprint that'll help you avoid doing the same I did early on.

  • Psychological analysis (Finding Your Niche)

  • ICP Creation (Targetting 101)

  • Awareness levels (Positioning For Newbies)

Dig in.

Psycholgical Analysis

I've most of my clients go through one. Reason for this

  • Finding their own voice

  • Understanding core of their personality

  • Making niche discovery process take no time

It's a 30-45 minute long practice that you can take alone or with someone on a call.

How to do it with someone:

  • Hop on a call

  • Do 7 Steps Inner (answer to each question is the next question)

  • Find their inner 'why'

  • Connect it to their main interest

  • Map it around high income skills they have/want to have

  • Connect this all into one

  • Extrapolate data and get 10 main branches of content to write about

When you add content styles, forms - then you get 300-400 ideas for posts. In an instant. And every single one:

  • Is indepth

  • You're passionate about

  • Is levels ahead of GPT copy

How to do it alone? 

  • Write 500-1000 words long copy

  • Have someone check it (and tell their feelings about it)

Second way doesn't require a supervisor when writing - but it still requires someone to check it afterwards. Aka - you need an accountability partner/mentor

Get it out of the way. Good? Next.

Finding Your ICP

This is reverse engineering our psychological analysis. How to do it?

  • Write some text copy (write about 1-2 topics)

  • Ask yourself the following questions - on the aspect 'Whom it would've helped most?'

Here are the questions:

  • What is their current situation?

  • What is their destined outcome?

  • Where are they currently most probably on the journey?

  • How much money would they have?

  • Which awareness level do they belong to? (Will expand upon this in a sec)

  • Are they experienced in similar niches or absolute newbies?

  • Are they making money/how are they doing it?

  • Have they bought similar services to ones you want to offer (both with content and paid)?

  • What is mine competition that my ICP could've bought from?

Age, gender, anything - that doesn't matter. It's not your everyday marketing ICP creation.

Get this sorted out of the way - and let me expand on the subject of good copy.

Target Your Copy

I'll tell you this - even content targetted to go viral is better than yours, targetted and nothing at all.

Yes, I'm dead serious.

Target either:

• Transforming/improving your reader • Monetizing by gaining leads • Virality • Leveraging the message of your brand • Getting your message out there for starters

Have a purpose. Then realise awareness levels.

  • Non Aware - "There's a problem?"

  • Problem Aware - "Damn, there's actually a problem"

  • Solution Aware - "So there must be a solution, I better start looking"

  • Product Aware - "So my solution to the problem exists, I need to start searching on how to get and apply it"

  • Most Aware - "I've the solution, I'm applying it on everyday basis now"

Most of your audience (if it's low quality) is at levels 1 and 2.

Most audiences that actually put up good content have mostly 2,3 and 4. G

Great audiences that lead with authority have mostly 3,4 and 5s - because of their services/connections.

However, the do attract 2 - so the flow of leads never ends.

Target 1 (Non Aware) - to show them a problem. Hard.

Target 2 (Problem Aware) - to show them existence of the solution. Easier.

Target 3 (Solution Aware) - to introduce them to your solutions. Easy.

Target 4 (Product Aware) - to convert them into paying customers. Hard.

You need to have a funnel to turn 1 and 2 into a 5.reat a

A long, yet valuable issue here for you.

And for the love of God, please position and target well before you sell.

Or you'll be same dissappointed Seb from January who didn't know a thing about sales.

Be better.

PS: If you want to actually have a field tested strategy (by working with me) + my guidance (to actually monetize properly) then feel free to respond to the email - and we'll have a friendly chat.

  • Seb, out.